Faction

The Chosen Axes - The Chosen Axes


Card sets (12)

Core setSepulchral Guard expansionIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionLeadersNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionGarrek's Reavers expansionSteelheart's Champions expansion


Organised play

2 | 10 - NOT VALID

Objectives (12)

Total glory - 18
6 | 0 | 4 | 2

Gambits (10)

The Chosen Axes expansion - The Earth Shakes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Treasure-lust
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Earthquake
  • FAQ:

    Q: How do I resolve the pushes when I play Earthquake?


    A: Choose a direction, then push every fighter in that direction simultaneously. Any fighters that cannot be pushed in that direction (because of a blocked hex, another fighter that cannot be pushed, the edge of the battlefield or a rule that prevents them being pushed) are not pushed. As pushing every fighter at once is a little tricky to do with more than a few fighters on the battlefield, it is fine to push the fighters one at a time, so long as you bear in mind that all of the pushes happen simultaneously as far as the game is concerned (so, for example, a reaction to Earthquake – or any push made because of Earthquake – can only be made after all of the pushes from Earthquake have been resolved).


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Farstriders expansion - Great Concussion
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Farstriders expansion - Inspiration Strikes
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I play Inspiration Strikes on a fighter that is already Inspired?


    A: Yes.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Spoils of Battle
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Time Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Time Trap instructs you to skip your next activation. Does this mean you have to take a Pass on your next activation, or do you get an extra activation and therefore change the turn order?


    A: When you use Time Trap you take an extra action (not an activation). This action happens in the power step, and you do not flip an activation token when you take the action. You cannot use this action to do something you could not normally do (e.g. make a Move action with a fighter that has already has a Move token). Once you have taken the action, the power step continues. You must take the ‘Pass’ player activation as your next activation, which will be followed by the power step as normal. Time Trap does not change the turn order.


    Q: How do ploys that grant extra actions work?


    A: When a ploy allows a fighter to make an action, but does not specify an action, the fighter cannot make an action that would not normally be allowed by the rules of the game. In the case of Time Trap, if the fighter chosen had a Move token, they could not make a Move or Charge action, as the rules forbid a fighter with a Move token from making a Move action (and a Charge action always includes a Move action). However, if the fighter had a Charge token, this ploy would still allow them to make any action, as a Charge token simply prevents that fighter from being activated.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Steelheart's Champions expansion - Regal Vision
  • FAQ: -
    -

Upgrades (10)

The Chosen Axes expansion - Activated Runes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Grimnir's Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - A Destiny to Meet
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Incredible Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Soultrap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if the attacking player used Twist the Knife?


    A: Yes. Twist the Knife is used when it is determined that the Attack action will succeed, to increase the amount of damage the Attack action deals. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if either player used Rebound?


    A: Yes. Rebound is used when it is determined that the Attack action would succeed. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: If an enemy fighter would be taken out of action by my fighter’s Attack action, but my opponent uses Soultrap or Last Chance so that they are not taken out of action, can I still drive that fighter back?


    A: Yes


    Q: Can any combination of the reactions on Last Chance, Last Lunge and Soultrap be made during the same Attack action?


    A: No.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Sprinter
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Tethered Spirit
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Total Offence
  • Description:
    (Errata update) When this fighter makes their first Attack action in an activation or power step (other than an Attack action made as part of a Charge action), you can choose for that Attack action to have +2 Dice. If you do, this fighter cannot be activated again this phase
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Garrek's Reavers expansion - Slumbering Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restrictions Set FAQ Tags
119 Ferocious Charge The Chosen Axes Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter takes an enemy fighter out of action with a Charge action 1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
124 Scion of Grimnir The Chosen Axes Objective Score this immediately if your leader takes an enemy fighter out of action 1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
132 The Earth Shakes The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a fighter and push them one hex - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
133 Treasure-lust The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and push them up to three hexes. They must end up holding an objective - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
136 Activated Runes The Chosen Axes Upgrade Each time this fighter make an Attack action, you can re-roll one dice - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
142 Grimnir's Fortitude The Chosen Axes Upgrade +1 Defence - Fjul-Grimnir The Chosen Axes expansion - -
252 Defensive Strike Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately when your warband takes an enemy fighter standing in your territory out of action
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
257 Escalation Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
271 Massive Assault Universal Objective Score this immediately if your fighters deal 7 or more damage in an action phase (damage in excess of a fighter's Wounds characteristic is included) 1 - Magore's Fiends expansion - -
291 Superior Tactician Universal Objective Score this in the third end phase if you have scored six or more other objective cards 3 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
305 Victorious Duel Universal Objective Score this immediately if your leader takes an enemy leader out of action 2 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
321 Earthquake Universal Ploy
Restricted
Push all fighters one hex. You must push them all in the same direction. Any that cannot be pushed this way are not pushed
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -
329 Great Concussion Universal Ploy
Banned
Choose a hex on the battlefield, then push all fighters one hex (in whichever order you choose). This push must move them away from the chosen hex. If there is no hex you could push a fighter into, do not push them
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -
334 Inspiration Strikes Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter. They become Inspired - - The Farstriders expansion ? -
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action
- - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
362 Spoils of Battle Universal Ploy Play an upgrade card. This doesn't cost a glory point - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
368 Time Trap Universal Ploy
Banned
Choose a fighter. They can take an action. Skip your next activation (you cannot play this card after your fourth activation)
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -
373 A Destiny to Meet Universal Upgrade
Restricted
If this fighter is not out of action at the end of the third action phase, gain 1 additional glory point
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
395 Incredible Strength Universal Upgrade
Restricted
+1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
420 Soultrap Universal Upgrade
Restricted
Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit they suffer no damage and are not taken out of action, and you discard this upgrade
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -
421 Sprinter Universal Upgrade +1 Move - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
424 Tethered Spirit Universal Upgrade
Restricted
(Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
- - Magore's Fiends expansion - -
431 Total Offence Universal Upgrade (Errata update) When this fighter makes their first Attack action in an activation or power step (other than an Attack action made as part of a Charge action), you can choose for that Attack action to have +2 Dice. If you do, this fighter cannot be activated again this phase - - Core set - -
L24 Shining Example Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if your leader is on the battlefield and Inspired 1 - Leaders - -
N310 Denial Universal Objective Score this in the third end phase if there are no enemy fighters in your territory 3 - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate
N319 Fired Up Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if at least one surviving friendly fighter is Inspired
1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -
N357 Opening Gambit Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored at least one objective card in the preceding action phase 1 - Garrek's Reavers expansion - -
N385 What Armour? Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter's Attack action with Cleave succeeds 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -
N441 Regal Vision Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that is holding an objective. That fighter becomes Inspired - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - -
N506 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2 - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate
N539 Slumbering Key Universal Upgrade
Restricted
If this fighter is not out of action in the third end phase, gain 1 glory point
- - Garrek's Reavers expansion - -