Shared deck

Thorns of the Briar Queen Thorns of the Briar Queen

Card sets (12)

Core setIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionNightvault core setZarbag's Gitz expansionGarrek's Reavers expansionSteelheart's Champions expansionMollog's Mob expansionPower Unbound


Play formats

Cards: 0 | 0 | 11 | 6

Valid:
Open

Not valid:
Championship/Alliance Relic

Objectives (12)

The Farstriders expansion - Change of Tactics (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do upgrades applied due to Spoils of Battle or Ghoulish Pact count towards scoring Escalation?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Master of War (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Masterstroke (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can you score Masterstroke with damage caused by Twist the Knife or Trap?


    A: You can score it with Trap (the reaction deals the damage that takes the enemy fighter out of action) but not Twist the Knife (the reaction does not deal damage, it simply increases the Damage characteristic of the Attack action).


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Superior Tactician (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Drag Them Down (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Swarming Spirits (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Treacherous Foe (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Combination Strike (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction)

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the FAQ directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Opening Gambit (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Power Unbound - Shortcut (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I use Hidden Paths to change the position of a fighter so that I can score Shortcut?


    A: Yes.


    Q: Can I use Faneway Crystal to change the position of a fighter so that I can score Shortcut?


    A: No. Faneway Crystal changes how a fighter makes a Move action, but it is still a Move action.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Total glory - 18
6 | 5 | 1

Gambits (10)

Core set - Confusion
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Q: If my fighter hasn’t made a Move action but has one or more Move tokens (e.g. if they were chosen by Transfixing Stare), can I still use Hidden Paths on them?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Improvisation
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Improvisation be used if you have no power cards in your hand to discard?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Last Chance
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Ready for Action be used to perform a spell Attack action?


    A: Yes


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Rebound
  • FAQ:

    Q: Who has dealt the damage dealt by Rebound?


    A: The damage is dealt by the warband of the player who played Rebound.


    Q: If a player plays Rebound during an Attack action and successfully rolls a Dodge or Critical Hit for that reaction, is the Attack action considered to have failed?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Nightvault core set - Drifting Advance
  • FAQ:

    Q: When I play Drifting Advance, do I have to push all friendly Chainrasps?


    A: No (you can choose to push a Chainrasp 0 hexes, which is effectively the same as not pushing them). In addition, you cannot push a Chainrasp that is already adjacent to an enemy fighter, as they cannot be pushed closer to an enemy fighter (this doesn’t stop you playing the card, it simply means that it won’t affect that Chainrasp).


    Q: Can I play Drifting Advance if there are no enemy fighters?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Nightvault core set - Endless Malice
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Howling Vortex
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sudden Appearance
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Sudden Appearance be used to place a fighter that is out of action on the battlefield?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


9 | 1

Upgrades (10)

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Acrobatic
  • FAQ:

    Q: If a character with a Dodge Defence characteristic has the Acrobatic upgrade, do they have to be on Guard to get the extra dice?


    A: No.


    Q: What happens if a fighter has both the Acrobatic and Ethereal Shield upgrades?


    A: The fighter’s Defence characteristic is Shield. They will only get an extra dice from Acrobatic if they are on Guard.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Concealed Weapon
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Mollog's Mob expansion - Challenge Seeker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Faneway Crystal
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can a fighter with this upgrade make a normal Move action?


    A: No.


    Q: When a fighter with this upgrade makes a Charge action how does it work?


    A: The fighter does not move normally. Instead, you place them on any objective token. Note that you must still follow the other rules for making a Charge action, so there must be an enemy fighter within range and line of sight of one or more of the moving fighter’s Attack actions at the end of its move.


    Q: Can a fighter with a Move characteristic of 0 still use Faneway Crystal to Move to an objective token?


    A: Yes (with the exception of fighters that cannot make Move actions, like the Stalagsquig).


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Fighter's Ferocity
  • FAQ: -
    -

Garrek's Reavers expansion - Gloryseeker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Garrek's Reavers expansion - Potion of Constitution
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Potion of Rage
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I use my Potion of Rage during an Attack action that targets all adjacent fighters, does the +2 Dice apply to each of those Attack actions, or just one of those Attack actions?


    A: Just one – the one in which you take the reaction.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Power Unbound - Spectral Armour
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restricted Set FAQ Tags TDC Popularity
243 Change of Tactics Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action.
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -  
257 Escalation Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase.
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? -  
272 Master of War Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored an objective card, played a ploy card and played an upgrade card in this round.
1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -  
273 Masterstroke Universal Objective Score this immediately if an enemy fighter is taken out of action by an Attack action made as a Reaction by your warband or a Reaction made by your warband that causes damage.
1 - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -  
291 Superior Tactician Universal Objective Score this in the third end phase if you have scored six or more other objective cards.
3 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -  
311 Confusion Universal Ploy Choose two fighters that are adjacent to each other and switch them.
- - Core set - SSduplicate 16/44 (36.36%)  
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action.
- - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -  
333 Improvisation Universal Ploy Discard all power cards in your hand and draw three power cards.
- - The Farstriders expansion ? -  
336 Last Chance Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this during an Attack action that would take a friendly fighter out of action. Roll a defence dice. If the result would not normally be a success for this fighter, ignore the damage from that Attack action on this fighter.
Forsaken
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -  
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action.
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -  
349 Rebound Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this during an enemy Attack action that would succeed. Roll a defence dice. On a roll of DodgeDodge or Critical successCritical success the attacker suffers the damage, rather than the target, and neither fighter is driven back.
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? SSduplicate  
374 Acrobatic Universal Upgrade If this fighter has a DodgeDodge Defence characteristic or has a BlockBlock Defence characteristic but is on Guard, roll an extra defence dice when they are the target of an Attack action.
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? -  
378 Concealed Weapon Universal Upgrade On a critical hit, this fighter's Attack actions with a Range of 1 have +2 Damage.
- - The Farstriders expansion - -  
391 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2.
- - Core set - SSduplicate 26/44 (59.09%)  
N32 Drag Them Down Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if three or more friendly fighters made a successful Attack action in this phase. (Able to be scored if you draw this card after the condition was met).
2 - Nightvault core set - -  
N34 Swarming Spirits Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if two or more friendly fighters moved through a hex occupied by an enemy fighter in this phase. (Able to be scored if you draw this card after the condition was met).
1 - Nightvault core set - -  
N37 Treacherous Foe Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if your warband makes a reaction.
1 - Nightvault core set - - 4/44 (9.09%)  
N39 Drifting Advance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Push all friendly Chainrasps up to two hexes. This push must take them closer to the nearest enemy fighter in each case. If there is more than one nearest enemy fighter, you can choose which the Chainrasp is pushed towards.
- - Nightvault core set ? -  
N40 Endless Malice Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Reaction: Play this after a friendly fighter's Attack action that fails. That fighter can make another Attack action that targets the same fighter.
- - Nightvault core set - - 4/44 (9.09%)  
N42 Howling Vortex Thorns of the Briar Queen Spell Gambit Spell (FocusFocus): If this spell is cast, push all enemy fighters up to one hex.
- - Nightvault core set - - 3/44 (6.82%)  
N47 Sudden Appearance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and place them on any starting hex.
- - Nightvault core set ? - 4/44 (9.09%)  
N305 Combination Strike Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored at least two objective cards in the preceding action phase.
2 - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 22/44 (50%)  
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
Forsaken
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 20/44 (45.45%)  
N357 Opening Gambit Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored at least one objective card in the preceding action phase.
1 - Garrek's Reavers expansion - - 28/44 (63.64%)  
N485 Challenge Seeker Universal Upgrade When this fighter makes an Attack action that targets a fighter with a higher Wounds characteristic than itself, that Attack action has +1 Dice.
- - Mollog's Mob expansion - - 2/44 (4.55%)  
N499 Faneway Crystal Universal Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move action, they do not move normally. Instead, place them on any objective token, then discard this card. It is still considered to be a Move action.
- - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 23/44 (52.27%)  
N501 Fighter's Ferocity Universal Upgrade If you score a critical hit when making an Attack action with this fighter, that Attack action has +1 Damage.
- - Zarbag's Gitz expansion - - 7/44 (15.91%)  
N503 Gloryseeker Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to this fighter's Attack actions that target a fighter with a Wounds characteristic of 4 or more.
- - Garrek's Reavers expansion - - 18/44 (40.91%)  
N527 Potion of Constitution Universal Upgrade Reaction: During an Attack action or gambit that will damage this fighter, discard this card. Reduce the damage suffered by 1, to a minimum of 1.
- - Garrek's Reavers expansion - -  
N529 Potion of Rage Universal Upgrade Reaction: During this fighter's Attack action, before any dice are rolled, discard this card. The Attack action has +2 Dice until the action is resolved.
- - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 30/44 (68.18%)  
P32 Shortcut Universal Objective Score this immediately when a friendly fighter is taken out of one hex and immediately placed in a different hex, but not as a result of a push or a Move action.
1 - Power Unbound ? - 16/44 (36.36%)  
P56 Spectral Armour Universal Upgrade If this fighter's Defence characteristic is DodgeDodge, they have +1 Defence.
- - Power Unbound - - 10/44 (22.73%)