Shared deck

The Eyes of the Nine The Eyes of the Nine

Card sets (10)

Core setSepulchral Guard expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionZarbag's Gitz expansionGarrek's Reavers expansionSteelheart's Champions expansion


Play formats

Cards: 1 | 1 | 9 | 7

Valid:
Open

Not valid:
Championship/Alliance Relic

Objectives (12)

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Alone in the Darkness (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Crushing Force (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do upgrades applied due to Spoils of Battle or Ghoulish Pact count towards scoring Escalation?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - The Bigger They Are (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Master of Magic (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Summoner (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Extreme Flank (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do both fighters need to be on the furthest opposite edge from each other?


    A: No. The second fighter must be on the furthest opposite edge from the first fighter.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Finish Them (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction)

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the FAQ directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If I use Hidden Paths, does that count as a Move action for the purposes of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Martyred (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I draw Martyred or Strong Start during a round, after the condition to score them has been met, can I score them?


    A: No. You must have these cards in your hand at the time the condition is met to score them. Note that the conditions on Martyred and Strong Start can be met in each round, so if you keep the card in your hand after drawing it you may have the opportunity to score it in later rounds.


    Q: If both an enemy fighter and a friendly fighter are taken out of action at the same time (e.g. by Shardgale), and those are the first fighters taken out of action in a round, can either player score Martyred and/or Strong Start?


    A: No. There is no single first fighter taken out of action in that example.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Steelheart's Champions expansion - Strong Start (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I draw Martyred or Strong Start during a round, after the condition to score them has been met, can I score them?


    A: No. You must have these cards in your hand at the time the condition is met to score them. Note that the conditions on Martyred and Strong Start can be met in each round, so if you keep the card in your hand after drawing it you may have the opportunity to score it in later rounds.


    Q: If both an enemy fighter and a friendly fighter are taken out of action at the same time (e.g. by Shardgale), and those are the first fighters taken out of action in a round, can either player score Martyred and/or Strong Start?


    A: No. There is no single first fighter taken out of action in that example.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Supremacy (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Total glory - 18
7 | 5 | 0

Gambits (10)

Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Q: If my fighter hasn’t made a Move action but has one or more Move tokens (e.g. if they were chosen by Transfixing Stare), can I still use Hidden Paths on them?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Sepulchral Guard expansion - Mighty Swing
  • FAQ:

    Q: What happens when I use Shadeglass Sword with the ploy Mighty Swing, targeting more than one enemy fighter?


    A: You make the Attack action against each fighter in turn, in the order you choose. After the first of these Attack actions to be successful, you discard the upgrade, which means you cannot resolve the Attack action against any remaining targets.


    Q: What happens when I use Daemonic Weapon with the ploy Mighty Swing, targeting more than one enemy fighter?


    A: The fighter suffers 1 damage before making each Attack action, so they would suffer 1 damage, then (assuming they survive) make their first Attack action, then suffer 1 more damage and then (assuming they survive) make their second Attack action and so on. If they are taken out of action, you cannot resolve the Attack action against any remaining targets.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Sepulchral Guard expansion - Shattering Terrain
  • FAQ:

    Q: When does the fighter suffer damage as a result of Shattering Terrain – before or after they are moved? If the damage would take a fighter out of action, in which hex would that happen, the starting or ending hex?


    A: After they are moved – if the damage would take them out of action, this happens in the ending hex.


    Q: If a fighter from Ironskull’s Boyz who is not Inspired makes a Charge action after Shattering Terrain has been played, do they suffer damage (and therefore become Inspired) after finishing the whole Charge action, or after the Move action and before the Attack action?


    A: They are damaged (and therefore Inspired) after their Move action and before their Attack action.


    Q: Who gains a glory point if a fighter is taken out of action as a result of Shattering Terrain?


    A: In a two-player game, when a player’s fighter is taken out of action their opponent gains a glory point. In a three- or four-player game, if you play Shattering Terrain and the damage it deals takes an enemy fighter out of action, you gain a glory point; if it takes one of your own fighters out of action, no one gains a glory point.


    Q: How much damage does a fighter driven back by an Attack action with Knockback suffer from Shattering Terrain, if it is in effect?


    A: 1 damage.


    Q: If a fighter both moves and is pushed while Shattering Terrain is in effect, how much damage do they suffer, and when?


    A: They suffer 1 damage after the first move or push. They do not suffer any damage for subsequent moves or pushes in the same activation.


    Q: What happens if Shattering Terrain is in play and a fighter is driven back into a lethal hex, and then I play Trap and Pit Trap?


    A: The fighter is dealt any damage by the Attack action first, then 1 damage by the lethal hex, then 1 damage by Shattering Terrain, then you can play Trap to deal 1 damage to that fighter, and after the Attack action is resolved you can play Pit Trap to deal 1 damage to that fighter


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: If a fighter is taken out of action by Trap, does that happen before or after they are driven back?


    A: After.


    Q: When a fighter is driven back into a lethal hex, do they suffer the damage from the lethal hex before I can play Trap?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If a fighter is driven back by an Attack action that was not successful, and then Trap is played to deal damage to that fighter, is the Attack action considered to be successful?


    A: No. The damage is dealt by the ploy, not the Attack action.


    Q: I make an Attack action with my fighter, and after the dice are rolled it is determined that the Attack action is successful and will cause damage. My opponent plays Rebound as a reaction, but fails the roll so nothing happens. We continue to resolve the Attack action: my fighter deals the damage, and I choose to drive the target fighter back. Can I now play the Trap reaction?


    A: Yes. The trigger for Trap is after the fighter is driven back, which is a different trigger to when the Attack action is determined to be successful or not.


    Q: Can Trap and Pit Trap be triggered by the same Attack action?


    A: Yes. Trap is a reaction that happens during an Attack action, and Pit Trap is a reaction that happens after an Attack action.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Deceitful Step
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Abasoth's Withering
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I cast this on a 4 wound fighter that has 3 wound tokens, what happens?


    A: The fighter is taken out of action. Note that the spell is not considered to have taken them out of action. In a two-player game, you will still gain a glory point, but your warband is not considered to have taken that fighter out of action.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Encroaching Shadow
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Haymaker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Lethal Ward
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Pit Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Trap and Pit Trap be triggered by the same Attack action?


    A: Yes. Trap is a reaction that happens during an Attack action, and Pit Trap is a reaction that happens after an Attack action.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


9 | 1

Upgrades (10)

Core set - Total Offence
  • Description:
    (Errata update) When this fighter makes their first Attack action in an activation or power step (other than an Attack action made as part of a Charge action), you can choose for that Attack action to have +2 Dice. If you do, this fighter cannot be activated again this phase.
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Empowered Sorcery
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Faneway Crystal
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can a fighter with this upgrade make a normal Move action?


    A: No.


    Q: When a fighter with this upgrade makes a Charge action how does it work?


    A: The fighter does not move normally. Instead, you place them on any objective token. Note that you must still follow the other rules for making a Charge action, so there must be an enemy fighter within range and line of sight of one or more of the moving fighter’s Attack actions at the end of its move.


    Q: Can a fighter with a Move characteristic of 0 still use Faneway Crystal to Move to an objective token?


    A: Yes (with the exception of fighters that cannot make Move actions, like the Stalagsquig).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Fighter's Ferocity
  • FAQ: -
    -

Garrek's Reavers expansion - Gloryseeker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Mirror of Spite
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Potion of Grace
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Potion of Rage
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I use my Potion of Rage during an Attack action that targets all adjacent fighters, does the +2 Dice apply to each of those Attack actions, or just one of those Attack actions?


    A: Just one – the one in which you take the reaction.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Tome of Diseases
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restricted Set FAQ Tags TDC Popularity
235 Alone in the Darkness Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if there are no adjacent fighters on the battlefield. 2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
250 Crushing Force Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter makes a successful attack that deals at least twice as much damage as is needed to take their target out of action. 1 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -  
257 Escalation Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase. 2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? - 29/36 (80.56%)  
298 The Bigger They Are Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter takes an enemy fighter out of action with an Attack action that had a Damage characteristic of 1. 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -  
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action. - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? - 31/36 (86.11%)  
339 Mighty Swing Universal Ploy Your first Attack action with a Range characteristic of 1 in the next activation targets all adjacent enemy fighters. Roll for each. - - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -  
357 Shattering Terrain Universal Ploy Any fighters that make a Move action, are pushed or are driven back in the next activation suffer 1 damage. - - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -  
369 Trap Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this during a friendly fighter's Attack action that drives an enemy fighter back. The enemy fighter suffers 1 damage. - - The Chosen Axes expansion ? - 7/36 (19.44%)  
431 Total Offence Universal Upgrade (Errata update) When this fighter makes their first Attack action in an activation or power step (other than an Attack action made as part of a Charge action), you can choose for that Attack action to have +2 Dice. If you do, this fighter cannot be activated again this phase. - - Core set - -  
N64 Master of Magic The Eyes of the Nine Objective Score this immediately if your warband successfully casts two or more spells in this phase. (Able to be scored if you draw this card after the condition was met). 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N66 Summoner The Eyes of the Nine Objective Score this immediately the second or subsequent time you use Vortemis' action to summon a Blue Horror. 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N70 Deceitful Step The Eyes of the Nine Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that is not adjacent to an enemy fighter and roll a magic dice. On a roll of ChannelChannel, place them on any starting hex. Otherwise, place them on any objective token. If you cannot, nothing happens. - - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N80 Empowered Sorcery The Eyes of the Nine Upgrade +1 Damage to all spell Attack actions. - Vortemis the All-seeing The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N317 Extreme Flank Universal Objective
Banned
Score this in an end phase if there is a friendly fighter on an edge hex and another friendly fighter on an edge hex on the opposite edge of the battlefield to the first fighter. Where there is more than one opposite edge, it must be the furthest of these edges.
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? -  
N318 Finish Them Universal Objective Score this immediately if your warband takes an enemy fighter out of action with an Attack action with a Damage characteristic of 1. 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction). 2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 17/36 (47.22%)  
N347 Martyred Universal Objective Score this immediately if the first fighter taken out of action in this round is a friendly fighter. 1 - Garrek's Reavers expansion ? - 12/36 (33.33%)  
N373 Strong Start Universal Objective Score this immediately if the first fighter taken out of action in this round is an enemy fighter. 1 - Steelheart's Champions expansion ? - 10/36 (27.78%)  
N374 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives. 3 - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 5/36 (13.89%)  
N389 Abasoth's Withering Universal Spell Gambit Spell (ChannelChannel): If this spell is cast, choose an enemy fighter within four hexes of the caster. That fighter has -1 Wounds (to a minimum of 1). This spell persists until that fighter is out of action. - - The Eyes of the Nine expansion ? - 10/36 (27.78%)  
N412 Encroaching Shadow Universal Ploy Choose an enemy fighter in an edge hex. They suffer 1 damage. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion - - 9/36 (25%)  
N420 Haymaker Universal Ploy +2 Dice for the first Attack action made by a friendly fighter in the next activation. You cannot make defence rolls for that fighter. The latter effect persists until that fighter is out of action or the end of the round, whichever happens first. - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 4/36 (11.11%)  
N427 Lethal Ward Universal Ploy Choose an objective token. Any fighter in the same hex as that token suffers 1 damage. - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 5/36 (13.89%)  
N436 Pit Trap Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after an Attack action that drives an enemy fighter back. They suffer 1 damage.
- - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? -  
N499 Faneway Crystal Universal Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move action, they do not move normally. Instead, place them on any objective token, then discard this card. It is still considered to be a Move action. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 32/36 (88.89%)  
N501 Fighter's Ferocity Universal Upgrade If you score a critical hit when making an Attack action with this fighter, that Attack action has +1 Damage. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion - - 10/36 (27.78%)  
N503 Gloryseeker Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to this fighter's Attack actions that target a fighter with a Wounds characteristic of 4 or more. - - Garrek's Reavers expansion - - 25/36 (69.44%)  
N506 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 17/36 (47.22%)  
N513 Mirror of Spite Universal Upgrade Reaction: During an enemy fighter's Attack action that takes this fighter out of action, before removing them from the battlefield, all adjacent enemy fighters suffer 1 damage. - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - -  
N528 Potion of Grace Universal Upgrade Reaction: After a Move token is placed next to this fighter, discard this card. Remove that token. - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - -  
N529 Potion of Rage Universal Upgrade Reaction: During this fighter's Attack action, before any dice are rolled, discard this card. The Attack action has +2 Dice until the action is resolved. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 28/36 (77.78%)  
N545 Tome of Diseases Universal Upgrade Katophrane Tome
Action: Choose an adjacent enemy fighter. They suffer 1 damage.
- - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 3/36 (8.33%)