Shared deck

Thorns of the Briar Queen Thorns of the Briar Queen

Card sets (10)

Ironskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionZarbag's Gitz expansionGarrek's Reavers expansionSteelheart's Champions expansion


Play formats

Cards: 1 | 1 | 11 | 5

Valid:
Open

Not valid:
Championship/Alliance Relic

Objectives (12)

The Farstriders expansion - Change of Tactics (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: When is Change of Tactics scored?


    A: After the Charge action has been resolved.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do upgrades applied due to Spoils of Battle or Ghoulish Pact count towards scoring Escalation?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Master of War (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Miraculous Escape (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Superior Tactician (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Victorious Duel (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Treacherous Foe (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Extreme Flank (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do both fighters need to be on the furthest opposite edge from each other?


    A: No. The second fighter must be on the furthest opposite edge from the first fighter.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Fired Up (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction)

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the FAQ directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If I use Hidden Paths, does that count as a Move action for the purposes of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Martyred (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I draw Martyred or Strong Start during a round, after the condition to score them has been met, can I score them?


    A: No. You must have these cards in your hand at the time the condition is met to score them. Note that the conditions on Martyred and Strong Start can be met in each round, so if you keep the card in your hand after drawing it you may have the opportunity to score it in later rounds.


    Q: If both an enemy fighter and a friendly fighter are taken out of action at the same time (e.g. by Shardgale), and those are the first fighters taken out of action in a round, can either player score Martyred and/or Strong Start?


    A: No. There is no single first fighter taken out of action in that example.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Supremacy (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Total glory - 20
5 | 6 | 1

Gambits (10)

The Farstriders expansion - Inspiration Strikes
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I play Inspiration Strikes on a fighter that is already Inspired?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Ready for Action be used to perform a spell Attack action?


    A: Yes


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Spoils of Battle
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Endless Malice
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Howling Vortex
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Spectral Parry
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sudden Appearance
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Sudden Appearance be used to place a fighter that is out of action on the battlefield?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Abasoth's Unmaking
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Haymaker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sidestep
  • FAQ: -
    -

8 | 2

Upgrades (10)

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Acrobatic
  • FAQ:

    Q: If a character with a dodge Defence characteristic has the Acrobatic upgrade, do they have to be on Guard to get the extra dice?


    A: No.


    Q: What happens if a fighter has both the Acrobatic and Ethereal Shield upgrades?


    A: The fighter’s Defence characteristic is Shield. They will only get an extra dice from Acrobatic if they are on Guard.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Magore's Fiends expansion - Deathly Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Inescapable Vengeance
  • FAQ:

    Q: If the Briar Queen has a Move characteristic of 0, can she still make a Move action to be placed on any starting hex using Inescapable Vengeance?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Faneway Crystal
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can a fighter with this upgrade make a normal Move action?


    A: No.


    Q: When a fighter with this upgrade makes a Charge action how does it work?


    A: The fighter does not move normally. Instead, you place them on any objective token. Note that you must still follow the other rules for making a Charge action, so there must be an enemy fighter within range and line of sight of one or more of the moving fighter’s Attack actions at the end of its move.


    Q: Can a fighter with a Move characteristic of 0 still use Faneway Crystal to Move to an objective token?


    A: Yes (with the exception of fighters that cannot make Move actions, like the Stalagsquig).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Gloryseeker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Potion of Grace
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Potion of Rage
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I use my Potion of Rage during an Attack action that targets all adjacent fighters, does the +2 Dice apply to each of those Attack actions, or just one of those Attack actions?


    A: Just one – the one in which you take the reaction.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Sudden Growth
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Tome of Glories
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restricted Set FAQ Tags TDC Popularity
243 Change of Tactics Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action. 1 - The Farstriders expansion ? - 18/36 (50%)  
257 Escalation Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase. 2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? - 29/36 (80.56%)  
272 Master of War Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored an objective card, played a ploy card and played an upgrade card in this round. 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - - 15/36 (41.67%)  
274 Miraculous Escape Universal Objective Score this immediately if one of your fighters is the target of an enemy Attack action with a Dice characteristic of 3 or more that fails. 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -  
291 Superior Tactician Universal Objective Score this in the third end phase if you have scored six or more other objective cards. 3 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - - 15/36 (41.67%)  
305 Victorious Duel Universal Objective Score this immediately if your leader takes an enemy leader out of action. 2 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - - 4/36 (11.11%)  
334 Inspiration Strikes Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter. They become Inspired. - - The Farstriders expansion ? - 8/36 (22.22%)  
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action. - - The Chosen Axes expansion ? - 32/36 (88.89%)  
362 Spoils of Battle Universal Ploy Play an upgrade card. This doesn't cost a glory point. - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - - 2/36 (5.56%)  
374 Acrobatic Universal Upgrade If this fighter has a DodgeDodge Defence characteristic or has a BlockBlock Defence characteristic but is on Guard, roll an extra defence dice when they are the target of an Attack action. - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? - 7/36 (19.44%)  
384 Deathly Fortitude Universal Upgrade -2 Move, +2 Wounds. - - Magore's Fiends expansion - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N37 Treacherous Foe Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if your warband makes a reaction. 1 - Nightvault core set - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N40 Endless Malice Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Reaction: Play this after a friendly fighter's Attack action that fails. That fighter can make another Attack action that targets the same fighter. - - Nightvault core set - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N42 Howling Vortex Thorns of the Briar Queen Spell Gambit Spell (FocusFocus): If this spell is cast, push all enemy fighters up to one hex. - - Nightvault core set - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N45 Spectral Parry Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that does not have a Guard token. Place a Guard token next to them. - - Nightvault core set - -  
N47 Sudden Appearance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and place them on any starting hex. - - Nightvault core set ? - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N55 Inescapable Vengeance Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move or Charge action, instead of moving them normally you can place them on any starting hex. - Briar Queen Nightvault core set ? - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N317 Extreme Flank Universal Objective
Banned
Score this in an end phase if there is a friendly fighter on an edge hex and another friendly fighter on an edge hex on the opposite edge of the battlefield to the first fighter. Where there is more than one opposite edge, it must be the furthest of these edges.
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? -  
N319 Fired Up Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if at least one surviving friendly fighter is Inspired. 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 6/36 (16.67%)  
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction). 2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 17/36 (47.22%)  
N347 Martyred Universal Objective Score this immediately if the first fighter taken out of action in this round is a friendly fighter. 1 - Garrek's Reavers expansion ? - 12/36 (33.33%)  
N374 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives. 3 - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 5/36 (13.89%)  
N388 Abasoth's Unmaking Universal Spell Gambit Spell (ChannelChannel): If this spell is cast, choose an objective token within four hexes of the caster. Remove it from the battlefield. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion - - 5/36 (13.89%)  
N420 Haymaker Universal Ploy +2 Dice for the first Attack action made by a friendly fighter in the next activation. You cannot make defence rolls for that fighter. The latter effect persists until that fighter is out of action or the end of the round, whichever happens first. - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 4/36 (11.11%)  
N446 Sidestep Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and push them one hex. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 2/36 (5.56%)  
N499 Faneway Crystal Universal Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move action, they do not move normally. Instead, place them on any objective token, then discard this card. It is still considered to be a Move action. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 32/36 (88.89%)  
N503 Gloryseeker Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to this fighter's Attack actions that target a fighter with a Wounds characteristic of 4 or more. - - Garrek's Reavers expansion - - 25/36 (69.44%)  
N506 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 17/36 (47.22%)  
N528 Potion of Grace Universal Upgrade Reaction: After a Move token is placed next to this fighter, discard this card. Remove that token. - - Steelheart's Champions expansion - -  
N529 Potion of Rage Universal Upgrade Reaction: During this fighter's Attack action, before any dice are rolled, discard this card. The Attack action has +2 Dice until the action is resolved. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 28/36 (77.78%)  
N543 Sudden Growth Universal Upgrade
Restricted
-2 Move (to a minimum of 0), +2 Wounds.
- - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N546 Tome of Glories Universal Upgrade Katophrane Tome
Action: If this fighter is holding an objective, gain 1 glory point. Place a Charge token next to this fighter.
- - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 9/36 (25%)