Faction

Thorns of the Briar Queen - Thorns of the Briar Queen


Card sets (9)

Core setIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionZarbag's Gitz expansion


Organised play

1 | 8 - NOT VALID

Objectives (12)

The Farstriders expansion - Advancing Strike (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Change of Tactics (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: When is Change of Tactics scored?


    A: After the Charge action has been resolved.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do upgrades applied due to Spoils of Battle or Ghoulish Pact count towards scoring Escalation?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Our Only Way Out (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Precise Use of Force (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Supremacy (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Death Sentence (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Swarming Spirits (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Treacherous Foe (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Extreme Flank (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do both fighters need to be on the furthest opposite edge from each other?


    A: No. The second fighter must be on the furthest opposite edge from the first fighter.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction)

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the FAQ directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If I use Hidden Paths, does that count as a Move action for the purposes of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - What Armour? (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Total glory - 18
7 | 0 | 5 | 0

Gambits (10)

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Duel of Wits
  • FAQ:

    Q: When do I play Duel of Wits?


    A: When your opponent plays a ploy, before that ploy is resolved. This is a different reaction window to reactions that are played after a ploy.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Q: If my fighter hasn’t made a Move action but has one or more Move tokens (e.g. if they were chosen by Transfixing Stare), can I still use Hidden Paths on them?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Inspiration Strikes
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I play Inspiration Strikes on a fighter that is already Inspired?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Magore's Fiends expansion - Mischievous Spirits
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Twist the Knife
  • FAQ:

    Q: Which reactions can be played in the same reaction window as Twist the Knife (thereby preventing the attacking player playing Twist the Knife)?


    A: Rebound, No Retreat and the reaction on Unflinching Guardian (this is a complete list for cards published up to June 2019).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Drifting Advance
  • FAQ:

    Q: When I play Drifting Advance, do I have to push all friendly Chainrasps?


    A: No (you can choose to push a Chainrasp 0 hexes, which is effectively the same as not pushing them). In addition, you cannot push a Chainrasp that is already adjacent to an enemy fighter, as they cannot be pushed closer to an enemy fighter (this doesn’t stop you playing the card, it simply means that it won’t affect that Chainrasp).


    Q: Can I play Drifting Advance if there are no enemy fighters?


    A: Yes. If you do, it will have no effect.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Endless Malice
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sudden Appearance
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Sudden Appearance be used to place a fighter that is out of action on the battlefield?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Confusion
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Irresistible Prize
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Choose an objective token. Push all fighters that are within 2 hexes 1 hex so that they are standing on or closer to that token in an order you choose.
  • FAQ: -
    -

10 | 0

Upgrades (10)

The Farstriders expansion - A Destiny to Meet
  • FAQ:

    Q: When do I score the glory point from A Destiny to Meet?


    A: At the end of the last action phase, before the third end phase.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Incredible Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Tethered Spirit
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a BlockBlock or Critical successCritical success place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action.
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I play Last Chance or use the reaction on Tethered Spirit or Soultrap during an Attack action to save my fighter, is the Attack action successful?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - The Blazing Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - The Shadowed Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Chill Touch
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Inescapable Vengeance
  • FAQ:

    Q: If the Briar Queen has a Move characteristic of 0, can she still make a Move action to be placed on any starting hex using Inescapable Vengeance?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Shacklegheist Chains
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Faneway Crystal
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can a fighter with this upgrade make a normal Move action?


    A: No.


    Q: When a fighter with this upgrade makes a Charge action how does it work?


    A: The fighter does not move normally. Instead, you place them on any objective token. Note that you must still follow the other rules for making a Charge action, so there must be an enemy fighter within range and line of sight of one or more of the moving fighter’s Attack actions at the end of its move.


    Q: Can a fighter with a Move characteristic of 0 still use Faneway Crystal to Move to an objective token?


    A: Yes (with the exception of fighters that cannot make Move actions, like the Stalagsquig).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Potion of Rage
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I use my Potion of Rage during an Attack action that targets all adjacent fighters, does the +2 Dice apply to each of those Attack actions, or just one of those Attack actions?


    A: Just one – the one in which you take the reaction.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restricted Set FAQ Tags TDC Popularity
234 Advancing Strike Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately when your warband takes an enemy fighter standing in enemy territory out of action.
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -  
243 Change of Tactics Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action.
1 - The Farstriders expansion ? - 11/23 (47.83%)  
257 Escalation Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase.
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? - 18/23 (78.26%)  
278 Our Only Way Out Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives. 2 - The Farstriders expansion - - 2/23 (8.7%)  
284 Precise Use of Force Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter makes a successful Attack action that deals exactly enough damage to take their target out of action.
1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - - 3/23 (13.04%)  
292 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives. 3 - Core set - SSduplicate 2/23 (8.7%)  
320 Duel of Wits Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this when an opponent plays a ploy. Draw two power cards. - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion ? - 2/23 (8.7%)  
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action. - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? - 19/23 (82.61%)  
334 Inspiration Strikes Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter. They become Inspired. - - The Farstriders expansion ? - 7/23 (30.43%)  
340 Mischievous Spirits Universal Ploy Taking it in turns with your opponent(s), starting with you and going clockwise, move each objective one hex. Objectives cannot be moved into a hex that already contains an objective. - - Magore's Fiends expansion - -  
372 Twist the Knife Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this during a friendly fighter's Attack action that has a Range of 1 and will succeed. It has +1 Damage for that Attack action.
- - The Farstriders expansion ? - 2/23 (8.7%)  
373 A Destiny to Meet Universal Upgrade
Restricted
If this fighter is not out of action at the end of the third action phase, gain 1 additional glory point.
- - The Farstriders expansion ? -  
395 Incredible Strength Universal Upgrade
Restricted
+1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2.
- - The Farstriders expansion - -  
424 Tethered Spirit Universal Upgrade
Restricted
(Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a BlockBlock or Critical successCritical success place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action.
- - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -  
425 The Blazing Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 3 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points. - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -  
430 The Shadowed Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 2 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points. - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -  
N31 Death Sentence Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if three or more friendly fighters are adjacent to the same enemy fighter. 1 - Nightvault core set - -  
N34 Swarming Spirits Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if two or more friendly fighters moved through a hex occupied by an enemy fighter in this phase. (Able to be scored if you draw this card after the condition was met). 1 - Nightvault core set - -  
N37 Treacherous Foe Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if your warband makes a reaction. 1 - Nightvault core set - -  
N39 Drifting Advance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Push all friendly Chainrasps up to two hexes. This push must take them closer to the nearest enemy fighter in each case. If there is more than one nearest enemy fighter, you can choose which the Chainrasp is pushed towards. - - Nightvault core set ? -  
N40 Endless Malice Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Reaction: Play this after a friendly fighter's Attack action that fails. That fighter can make another Attack action that targets the same fighter. - - Nightvault core set - -  
N47 Sudden Appearance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and place them on any starting hex. - - Nightvault core set ? -  
N49 Chill Touch Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade Rolls of DodgeDodge are not successes for defence rolls made during Attack actions made by this fighter. - Chainrasp Nightvault core set - -  
N55 Inescapable Vengeance Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move or Charge action, instead of moving them normally you can place them on any starting hex. - Briar Queen Nightvault core set ? -  
N57 Shacklegheist Chains Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade When this fighter's Attack action takes an enemy fighter out of action, gain 1 additional glory point. - Varclav the Cruel Nightvault core set - -  
N317 Extreme Flank Universal Objective
Banned
Score this in an end phase if there is a friendly fighter on an edge hex and another friendly fighter on an edge hex on the opposite edge of the battlefield to the first fighter. Where there is more than one opposite edge, it must be the furthest of these edges.
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? -  
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction). 2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 8/23 (34.78%)  
N385 What Armour? Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter's Attack action with Cleave succeeds. 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 11/23 (47.83%)  
N403 Confusion Universal Ploy Choose two fighters that are adjacent to each other and switch them. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate  
N426 Irresistible Prize Universal Ploy (Errata update) Choose an objective token. Push all fighters that are within 2 hexes 1 hex so that they are standing on or closer to that token in an order you choose. - - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N499 Faneway Crystal Universal Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move action, they do not move normally. Instead, place them on any objective token, then discard this card. It is still considered to be a Move action. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 20/23 (86.96%)  
N529 Potion of Rage Universal Upgrade Reaction: During this fighter's Attack action, before any dice are rolled, discard this card. The Attack action has +2 Dice until the action is resolved. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 18/23 (78.26%)