Faction

Thorns of the Briar Queen - Thorns of the Briar Queen


Card sets (10)

Core setIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionLeadersNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionZarbag's Gitz expansion


Organised play

3 | 12 - NOT VALID

Objectives (12)

The Farstriders expansion - Advancing Strike (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Change of Tactics (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: When is Change of Tactics scored?


    A: After the Charge action has been resolved.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Our Only Way Out (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Superior Tactician (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Supremacy (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Death Sentence (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Swarming Spirits (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Treacherous Foe (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Extreme Flank (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do both fighters need to be on the furthest opposite edge from each other?


    A: No. The second fighter must be on the furthest opposite edge from the first fighter.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Fired Up (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the Q and A directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Does Scurry count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Total glory - 20
5 | 0 | 6 | 1

Gambits (10)

The Farstriders expansion - Great Concussion
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Q: If my fighter hasn’t made a Move action but has one or more Move tokens (e.g. if they were chosen by Transfixing Stare), can I still use Hidden Paths on them?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Quick Thinker
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Ready for Action be used to perform a spell Attack action?


    A: Yes


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


The Farstriders expansion - Twist the Knife
  • FAQ:

    Q: Which reactions can be played in the same reaction window as Twist the Knife (thereby preventing the attacking player playing Twist the Knife)?


    A: Rebound and No Retreat (this is a complete list for cards published up to February 2019).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Leaders - Inspired Command
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Drifting Advance
  • FAQ:

    Q: When I play Drifting Advance, do I have to push all friendly Chainrasps?


    A: No (you can choose to push a Chainrasp 0 hexes, which is effectively the same as not pushing them). In addition, you cannot push a Chainrasp that is already adjacent to an enemy fighter, as they cannot be pushed closer to an enemy fighter (this doesn’t stop you playing the card, it simply means that it won’t affect that Chainrasp).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Nightvault core set - Endless Malice
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sudden Appearance
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Sudden Appearance be used to place a fighter that is out of action on the battlefield?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Pit Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Trap and Pit Trap be triggered by the same Attack action?


    A: Yes. Trap is a reaction that happens during an Attack action, and Pit Trap is a reaction that happens after an Attack action.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Upgrades (10)

The Farstriders expansion - A Destiny to Meet
  • FAQ:

    Q: When do I score the glory point from A Destiny to Meet?


    A: At the end of the last action phase, before the third end phase.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Acrobatic
  • FAQ:

    Q: If a character with a dodge Defence characteristic has the Acrobatic upgrade, do they have to be on Guard to get the extra dice?


    A: No.


    Q: What happens if a fighter has both the Acrobatic and Ethereal Shield upgrades?


    A: The fighter’s Defence characteristic is Shield. They will only get an extra dice from Acrobatic if they are on Guard.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Awakened Weapon
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Incredible Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Tethered Spirit
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I play Last Chance or use the reaction on Tethered Spirit or Soultrap during an Attack action to save my fighter, is the Attack action successful?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Magore's Fiends expansion - Trusted Defender
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do Champion’s Fortitude and Trusted Defender have the same effect?


    A: Yes. If a fighter has both upgrades, you can re-roll up to two defence dice in their defence rolls (but not the same dice twice).


    Q: Which rolls does Trusted Defender affect?


    A: Only defence rolls.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Nightvault core set - Creeping Terror
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Inescapable Vengeance
  • FAQ:

    Q: If the Briar Queen has a Move characteristic of 0, can she still make a Move action to be placed on any starting hex using Inescapable Vengeance?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, February 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Potion of Rage
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restrictions Set FAQ Tags TDC
234 Advancing Strike Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately when your warband takes an enemy fighter standing in enemy territory out of action
1 - The Farstriders expansion - - 5/32 (15.63%)
243 Change of Tactics Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action
1 - The Farstriders expansion ? - 13/32 (40.63%)
257 Escalation Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - - 28/32 (87.5%)
278 Our Only Way Out Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives 2 - The Farstriders expansion - - 5/32 (15.63%)
291 Superior Tactician Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in the third end phase if you have scored six or more other objective cards
3 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - - 14/32 (43.75%)
292 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives 3 - Core set - SSduplicate 11/32 (34.38%)
329 Great Concussion Universal Ploy
Banned
Choose a hex on the battlefield, then push all fighters one hex (in whichever order you choose). This push must move them away from the chosen hex. If there is no hex you could push a fighter into, do not push them
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? - 20/32 (62.5%)
347 Quick Thinker Universal Ploy
Banned
Reaction: Play this after an enemy fighter's Move action. Make a Move action with a friendly fighter who has not already made a Move action in this phase
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? - 28/32 (87.5%)
372 Twist the Knife Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this during a friendly fighter's Attack action that has a Range of 1 and will succeed. It has +1 Damage for that Attack action
- - The Farstriders expansion ? -
373 A Destiny to Meet Universal Upgrade
Restricted
If this fighter is not out of action at the end of the third action phase, gain 1 additional glory point
- - The Farstriders expansion ? -
374 Acrobatic Universal Upgrade If this fighter has a Dodge Defence characteristic or has a Shield Defence characteristic but is on Guard, roll an extra defence dice when they are the target of an Attack action - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? - 9/32 (28.13%)
376 Awakened Weapon Universal Upgrade
Restricted
You can re-roll one attack dice each time this fighter makes an Attack action
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - - 7/32 (21.88%)
391 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2 - - Core set - SSduplicate 28/32 (87.5%)
395 Incredible Strength Universal Upgrade
Restricted
+1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2
- - The Farstriders expansion - - 3/32 (9.38%)
424 Tethered Spirit Universal Upgrade
Restricted
(Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
- - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -
433 Trusted Defender Universal Upgrade You can re-roll one defence dice for this fighter when they are the target of an Attack action - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -
L38 Inspired Command Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter (other than your leader) and push them up to one hex or put them on Guard. You can only play this if your leader is on the battlefield - - Leaders - -
N31 Death Sentence Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if three or more friendly fighters are adjacent to the same enemy fighter 1 - Nightvault core set - -
N34 Swarming Spirits Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if two or more friendly fighters moved through a hex occupied by an enemy fighter in this phase. (Able to be scored if you draw this card after the condition was met) 1 - Nightvault core set - - 2/32 (6.25%)
N37 Treacherous Foe Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if your warband makes a reaction 1 - Nightvault core set - - 4/32 (12.5%)
N39 Drifting Advance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Push all friendly Chainrasps up to two hexes. This push must take them closer to the nearest enemy fighter in each case. If there is more than one nearest enemy fighter, you can choose which the Chainrasp is pushed towards - - Nightvault core set ? -
N40 Endless Malice Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Reaction: Play this after a friendly fighter's Attack action that fails. That fighter can make another Attack action that targets the same fighter - - Nightvault core set - - 4/32 (12.5%)
N47 Sudden Appearance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and place them on any starting hex - - Nightvault core set ? - 4/32 (12.5%)
N50 Creeping Terror Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade Reaction: After this fighter makes a Move action, roll an attack dice for the first enemy fighter they moved through in that action. On a Hammer or Critical Hit, the enemy fighter suffers 1 damage - - Nightvault core set - -
N55 Inescapable Vengeance Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move or Charge action, instead of moving them normally you can place them on any starting hex - Briar Queen Nightvault core set ? - 4/32 (12.5%)
N317 Extreme Flank Universal Objective
Banned
Score this in an end phase if there is a friendly fighter on an edge hex and another friendly fighter on an edge hex on the opposite edge of the battlefield to the first fighter. Where there is more than one opposite edge, it must be the furthest of these edges
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? -
N319 Fired Up Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if at least one surviving friendly fighter is Inspired
1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 8/32 (25%)
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card 2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 13/32 (40.63%)
N436 Pit Trap Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after an Attack action that drives an enemy fighter back. They suffer 1 damage
- - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 2/32 (6.25%)
N529 Potion of Rage Universal Upgrade Reaction: During this fighter's Attack action, before any dice are rolled, discard this card. The Attack action has +2 Dice until the action is resolved - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion - - 19/32 (59.38%)