Faction

The Chosen Axes - The Chosen Axes


Card sets (7)

Core setSepulchral Guard expansionIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansion


Organised play

2 | 9 - NOT VALID

Objectives (12)

Total glory - 17
4 | 0 | 7 | 1

Gambits (10)

The Chosen Axes expansion - The Earth Shakes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Treasure-lust
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Duel of Wits
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Earthquake
  • FAQ:

    Q: How do I resolve the pushes when I play Earthquake?


    A: Choose a direction, then push every fighter in that direction simultaneously. Any fighters that cannot be pushed in that direction (because of a blocked hex, another fighter that cannot be pushed, the edge of the battlefield or a rule that prevents them being pushed) are not pushed. As pushing every fighter at once is a little tricky to do with more than a few fighters on the battlefield, it is fine to push the fighters one at a time, so long as you bear in mind that all of the pushes happen simultaneously as far as the game is concerned (so, for example, a reaction to Earthquake – or any push made because of Earthquake – can only be made after all of the pushes from Earthquake have been resolved).


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Farstriders expansion - Great Concussion
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Farstriders expansion - Inspiration Strikes
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I play Inspiration Strikes on a fighter that is already Inspired?


    A: Yes.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Farstriders expansion - Quick Thinker
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Spoils of Battle
  • FAQ: -
    -

Upgrades (10)

The Chosen Axes expansion - Activated Runes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Grimnir's Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - A Destiny to Meet
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Shadeglass Axe
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Shadeglass Darts
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Soultrap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if the attacking player used Twist the Knife?


    A: Yes. Twist the Knife is used when it is determined that the Attack action will succeed, to increase the amount of damage the Attack action deals. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if either player used Rebound?


    A: Yes. Rebound is used when it is determined that the Attack action would succeed. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: If an enemy fighter would be taken out of action by my fighter’s Attack action, but my opponent uses Soultrap or Last Chance so that they are not taken out of action, can I still drive that fighter back?


    A: Yes


    Q: Can any combination of the reactions on Last Chance, Last Lunge and Soultrap be made during the same Attack action?


    A: No.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Sprinter
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Tethered Spirit
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restrictions Set FAQ Tags
119 Ferocious Charge The Chosen Axes Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter takes an enemy fighter out of action with a Charge action 1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
124 Scion of Grimnir The Chosen Axes Objective Score this immediately if your leader takes an enemy fighter out of action 1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
125 Unstoppable Advance The Chosen Axes Objective Score this in an end phase if all of your surviving fighters are in enemy territory 2 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
132 The Earth Shakes The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a fighter and push them one hex - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
133 Treasure-lust The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and push them up to three hexes. They must end up holding an objective - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
136 Activated Runes The Chosen Axes Upgrade Each time this fighter make an Attack action, you can re-roll one dice - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
142 Grimnir's Fortitude The Chosen Axes Upgrade +1 Defence - Fjul-Grimnir The Chosen Axes expansion - -
235 Alone in the Darkness Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if there are no adjacent fighters on the battlefield
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
243 Change of Tactics Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
257 Escalation Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
272 Master of War Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored an objective card, played a ploy card and played an upgrade card in this round 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
276 No More Tricks Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you have no power cards in your hand 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
282 Ploymaster Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you played three or more ploys in the preceding action phase 1 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
284 Precise Use of Force Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter makes a successful Attack action that deals exactly enough damage to take their target out of action
1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
291 Superior Tactician Universal Objective Score this in the third end phase if you have scored six or more other objective cards 3 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
293 Swift Advance Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if all of your surviving fighters are in enemy territory 1 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -
320 Duel of Wits Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this when an opponent plays a ploy. Draw two power cards - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
321 Earthquake Universal Ploy
Restricted
Push all fighters one hex. You must push them all in the same direction. Any that cannot be pushed this way are not pushed
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -
329 Great Concussion Universal Ploy
Banned
Choose a hex on the battlefield, then push all fighters one hex (in whichever order you choose). This push must move them away from the chosen hex. If there is no hex you could push a fighter into, do not push them
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -
334 Inspiration Strikes Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter. They become Inspired - - The Farstriders expansion ? -
347 Quick Thinker Universal Ploy
Banned
Reaction: Play this after an enemy fighter's Move action. Make a Move action with a friendly fighter who has not already made a Move action in this phase
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action
- - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
362 Spoils of Battle Universal Ploy Play an upgrade card. This doesn't cost a glory point - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
373 A Destiny to Meet Universal Upgrade
Restricted
If this fighter is not out of action at the end of the third action phase, gain 1 additional glory point
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
389 Great Fortitude Universal Upgrade +1 Wounds - - Core set - SSduplicate
391 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2 - - Core set - SSduplicate
409 Shadeglass Axe Universal Upgrade

Hex 1 Hammer 2 Damage 2

When this Attack action is successful, discard this upgrade. On a critical hit, this Attack action has +1 Damage

Hex 3 Hammer 2 Damage 2

After a fighter makes this Attack action, discard this upgrade. On a critical hit, this Attack action has +1 Damage
- - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
411 Shadeglass Darts Universal Upgrade

Hex 3 Sword 3 Damage 1

On a critical hit, this Attack action has +1 Damage
- - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
420 Soultrap Universal Upgrade
Restricted
Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit they suffer no damage and are not taken out of action, and you discard this upgrade
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -
421 Sprinter Universal Upgrade +1 Move - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
424 Tethered Spirit Universal Upgrade
Restricted
(Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
- - Magore's Fiends expansion - -