Shared deck

Thorns of the Briar Queen Thorns of the Briar Queen

Card sets (11)

Ironskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionLeadersNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionZarbag's Gitz expansionGarrek's Reavers expansionSteelheart's Champions expansion


Play formats

Cards: 1 | 1 | 12 | 6

Valid:
Open

Not valid:
Championship/Alliance Relic

Objectives (12)

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do upgrades applied due to Spoils of Battle or Ghoulish Pact count towards scoring Escalation?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Superior Tactician (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - As Nagash Commands (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Death Sentence (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Swarming Spirits (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Treacherous Foe (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Extreme Flank (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do both fighters need to be on the furthest opposite edge from each other?


    A: No. The second fighter must be on the furthest opposite edge from the first fighter.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction)

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the FAQ directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If I use Hidden Paths, does that count as a Move action for the purposes of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Martyred (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I draw Martyred or Strong Start during a round, after the condition to score them has been met, can I score them?


    A: No. You must have these cards in your hand at the time the condition is met to score them. Note that the conditions on Martyred and Strong Start can be met in each round, so if you keep the card in your hand after drawing it you may have the opportunity to score it in later rounds.


    Q: If both an enemy fighter and a friendly fighter are taken out of action at the same time (e.g. by Shardgale), and those are the first fighters taken out of action in a round, can either player score Martyred and/or Strong Start?


    A: No. There is no single first fighter taken out of action in that example.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Steelheart's Champions expansion - Strong Start (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I draw Martyred or Strong Start during a round, after the condition to score them has been met, can I score them?


    A: No. You must have these cards in your hand at the time the condition is met to score them. Note that the conditions on Martyred and Strong Start can be met in each round, so if you keep the card in your hand after drawing it you may have the opportunity to score it in later rounds.


    Q: If both an enemy fighter and a friendly fighter are taken out of action at the same time (e.g. by Shardgale), and those are the first fighters taken out of action in a round, can either player score Martyred and/or Strong Start?


    A: No. There is no single first fighter taken out of action in that example.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Supremacy (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Tempting Target (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Total glory - 20
6 | 4 | 2

Gambits (12)

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Distraction
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Duel of Wits
  • FAQ:

    Q: When do I play Duel of Wits?


    A: When your opponent plays a ploy, before that ploy is resolved. This is a different reaction window to reactions that are played after a ploy.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - Earthquake
  • FAQ:

    Q: How do I resolve the pushes when I play Earthquake?


    A: Choose a direction, then push every fighter in that direction simultaneously. Any fighters that cannot be pushed in that direction (because of a blocked hex, another fighter that cannot be pushed, the edge of the battlefield or a rule that prevents them being pushed) are not pushed. As pushing every fighter at once is a little tricky to do with more than a few fighters on the battlefield, it is fine to push the fighters one at a time, so long as you bear in mind that all of the pushes happen simultaneously as far as the game is concerned (so, for example, a reaction to Earthquake – or any push made because of Earthquake – can only be made after all of the pushes from Earthquake have been resolved).


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Magore's Fiends expansion - My Turn
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can my opponent drive my fighter back with an Attack action before I make the reaction on My Turn?


    A: Yes. The reaction on My Turn happens after an Attack action, and if a fighter is driven back as part of an Attack action this happens during that Attack action.


    Q: Can the damage my fighter suffers from using Daemonic Weapon trigger My Turn, and if so in what order is it resolved?


    A: Yes. You would play My Turn after resolving the Daemonic Weapon Attack action.


    Q: Can the damage my fighter suffers from Shattering Terrain while making a Charge action trigger My Turn, and if so how is the this resolved?


    A: Yes. You would play My Turn after the Move action taken as part of the Charge action (this is when Shattering Terrain damages the fighter), resolve My Turn and then (assuming you still could) resolve the Attack action taken as part of the Charge action.


    Q: Can the damage that a wizard suffers when there are two or more Critical Hit symbols in their casting roll trigger the reaction on My Turn?


    A: If the spell they were attempting to cast was a spell Attack action, then yes. My Turn would be resolved after the spell is cast or after the spell fails.


    Q: I play My Turn, and push my fighter one hex, preparing to take an Attack action as granted by the card. My opponent plays Mirror Move – does the push granted by Mirror Move occur before or after the attack from My Turn?


    A: Before – it is a reaction to the push, and the push is completed before the Attack action.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Ready for Action be used to perform a spell Attack action?


    A: Yes


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Drifting Advance
  • FAQ:

    Q: When I play Drifting Advance, do I have to push all friendly Chainrasps?


    A: No (you can choose to push a Chainrasp 0 hexes, which is effectively the same as not pushing them). In addition, you cannot push a Chainrasp that is already adjacent to an enemy fighter, as they cannot be pushed closer to an enemy fighter (this doesn’t stop you playing the card, it simply means that it won’t affect that Chainrasp).


    Q: Can I play Drifting Advance if there are no enemy fighters?


    A: Yes. If you do, it will have no effect.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Endless Malice
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sudden Appearance
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Sudden Appearance be used to place a fighter that is out of action on the battlefield?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Aggressive Defence
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I play Aggressive Defence during an Attack action, and a player plays a reaction (like Tireless Assault) after that Attack action, which is resolved first – my Attack action, or the reaction?


    A: If Aggressive Defence is played during an Attack action, and a reaction (such as Tireless Assault) is played after that Attack action, the reaction is resolved first, then the Attack action from Aggressive Defence is resolved (if that Attack action can still be resolved).


    Q: For how long does the ‘cannot be driven back’ part of Aggressive Defence last?


    A: Until the ploy has been resolved, at the point at which the target makes their Attack action.


    Q: If Aggressive Defence is played as a reaction to an Attack action made during an activation, does the Attack action from Aggressive Defence happen during or after that activation?


    A: After.


    Q: Can Aggressive Defence be played on a fighter that is under the effects of Haymaker?


    A: Yes.


    Q: Can I use Aggressive Defence and My Turn to generate two Attack actions after the same attack action?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If I use Aggressive Defence and My Turn to generate two Attack actions after the same Attack action, which Attack action is resolved first?


    A: The one granted by My Turn.


    Q: One player makes an Attack action in their activation, and the other player plays Aggressive Defence. If the first player’s Attack action succeeds, opening up the possibility for their opponent to play My Turn, can the first player use the Blessing of Hydragos reaction on their fighter to prevent their opponent using that reaction window and playing My Turn?


    A: No. Their opponent has the first opportunity to play a reaction in each reaction window.


    Q: One player starts their activation and uses Gurzag to charge Magore, then Magore’s player plays Aggressive Defence and after Magore takes damage from the Attack action Magore’s player plays My Turn. Magore’s player then performs the Attack action generated from My Turn with Magore. During this Attack action Gurzag’s player responds with their own Aggressive Defence, followed by My Turn when Gurzag takes damage. What happens?


    A: Gurzag’s original Attack action has been resolved, as has Magore’s Attack action from My Turn. The next Attack action to be resolved is Gurzag’s, from My Turn. Finally, the two Attack actions from Aggressive Defence remain to be resolved. Using the sequencing rules, the players roll off and whichever player wins the roll-off resolves their Attack action from Aggressive Defence first. Then the other player resolves their Attack action from Aggressive Defence. Note that because of Aggressive Defence, the only Attack action in this sequence in which a fighter can be driven back is the final Attack action.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Confusion
  • FAQ: -
    -

Garrek's Reavers expansion - Ghoulish Pact
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I play My Turn or Ready for Action as a reaction after my Ghoulish Pact resolves?


    A: Yes. You can play either of these reactions (but not both).


    Q: Can I play Ghoulish Pact if I don’t have any upgrades in my hand?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Nightvault core set - Sidestep
  • FAQ: -
    -

12 | 0

Upgrades (12)

Magore's Fiends expansion - Deathly Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - The Fractured Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - The Hallowed Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - The Shadowed Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Leaders - Treacherous Second
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Inescapable Vengeance
  • FAQ:

    Q: If the Briar Queen has a Move characteristic of 0, can she still make a Move action to be placed on any starting hex using Inescapable Vengeance?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Garrek's Reavers expansion - Gloryseeker
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Potion of Rage
  • FAQ:

    Q: If I use my Potion of Rage during an Attack action that targets all adjacent fighters, does the +2 Dice apply to each of those Attack actions, or just one of those Attack actions?


    A: Just one – the one in which you take the reaction.


    Current as of official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, June 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Spiteful Charm
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Sudden Growth
  • FAQ: -
    -

Steelheart's Champions expansion - Tome of Glories
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restricted Set FAQ Tags TDC Popularity
257 Escalation Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase. 2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? - 29/36 (80.56%)  
291 Superior Tactician Universal Objective Score this in the third end phase if you have scored six or more other objective cards. 3 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - - 15/36 (41.67%)  
318 Distraction Universal Ploy Choose an enemy fighter and push them one hex. - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - - 17/36 (47.22%)  
320 Duel of Wits Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this when an opponent plays a ploy. Draw two power cards. - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion ? - 3/36 (8.33%)  
321 Earthquake Universal Ploy Push all fighters one hex. You must push them all in the same direction. Any that cannot be pushed this way are not pushed. - - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -  
343 My Turn Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this after an Attack action or ploy that damages a friendly fighter. Push them up to one hex and make an Attack action with them. - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -  
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action. - - The Chosen Axes expansion ? - 32/36 (88.89%)  
384 Deathly Fortitude Universal Upgrade -2 Move, +2 Wounds. - - Magore's Fiends expansion - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
428 The Fractured Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 5 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points. - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -  
429 The Hallowed Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 1 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points. - - The Farstriders expansion - - 2/36 (5.56%)  
430 The Shadowed Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 2 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points. - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - - 2/36 (5.56%)  
L58 Treacherous Second Universal Upgrade Reaction: After an action or ploy that takes your leader out of action, if this fighter is on the battlefield, gain 1 glory point. - - Leaders - -  
N30 As Nagash Commands Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this in the third end phase if no enemy fighters are holding objectives. 2 - Nightvault core set - -  
N31 Death Sentence Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if three or more friendly fighters are adjacent to the same enemy fighter. 1 - Nightvault core set - -  
N34 Swarming Spirits Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if two or more friendly fighters moved through a hex occupied by an enemy fighter in this phase. (Able to be scored if you draw this card after the condition was met). 1 - Nightvault core set - -  
N37 Treacherous Foe Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this immediately if your warband makes a reaction. 1 - Nightvault core set - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N39 Drifting Advance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Push all friendly Chainrasps up to two hexes. This push must take them closer to the nearest enemy fighter in each case. If there is more than one nearest enemy fighter, you can choose which the Chainrasp is pushed towards. - - Nightvault core set ? -  
N40 Endless Malice Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Reaction: Play this after a friendly fighter's Attack action that fails. That fighter can make another Attack action that targets the same fighter. - - Nightvault core set - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N47 Sudden Appearance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and place them on any starting hex. - - Nightvault core set ? - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N55 Inescapable Vengeance Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move or Charge action, instead of moving them normally you can place them on any starting hex. - Briar Queen Nightvault core set ? - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N317 Extreme Flank Universal Objective
Banned
Score this in an end phase if there is a friendly fighter on an edge hex and another friendly fighter on an edge hex on the opposite edge of the battlefield to the first fighter. Where there is more than one opposite edge, it must be the furthest of these edges.
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? -  
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction). 2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 17/36 (47.22%)  
N347 Martyred Universal Objective Score this immediately if the first fighter taken out of action in this round is a friendly fighter. 1 - Garrek's Reavers expansion ? - 12/36 (33.33%)  
N373 Strong Start Universal Objective Score this immediately if the first fighter taken out of action in this round is an enemy fighter. 1 - Steelheart's Champions expansion ? - 10/36 (27.78%)  
N374 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives. 3 - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 5/36 (13.89%)  
N378 Tempting Target Universal Objective Score this immediately if your warband takes an enemy fighter with at least two upgrades out of action. 1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N391 Aggressive Defence Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this during an Attack action that targets a friendly fighter, before the attack roll. You cannot make a defence roll, but the target of the Attack action cannot be driven back. After the Attack action, if the friendly fighter survives, immediately make an attack action with that fighter that targets their attacker. - - Garrek's Reavers expansion ? - 2/36 (5.56%)  
N403 Confusion Universal Ploy Choose two fighters that are adjacent to each other and switch them. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 3/36 (8.33%)  
N417 Ghoulish Pact Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and an upgrade card from your hand that you can apply to that fighter. That fighter suffers 1 damage. If they survive, apply the upgrade to that fighter. - - Garrek's Reavers expansion ? -  
N446 Sidestep Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and push them one hex. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 2/36 (5.56%)  
N503 Gloryseeker Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to this fighter's Attack actions that target a fighter with a Wounds characteristic of 4 or more. - - Garrek's Reavers expansion - - 25/36 (69.44%)  
N506 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2. - - Nightvault core set - NVduplicate 17/36 (47.22%)  
N529 Potion of Rage Universal Upgrade Reaction: During this fighter's Attack action, before any dice are rolled, discard this card. The Attack action has +2 Dice until the action is resolved. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 28/36 (77.78%)  
N541 Spiteful Charm Universal Upgrade Reaction: After an enemy fighter's Attack action that damages this fighter, discard this card. Choose one of the enemy fighter's upgrades. That card is discarded. - - Zarbag's Gitz expansion - -  
N543 Sudden Growth Universal Upgrade
Restricted
-2 Move (to a minimum of 0), +2 Wounds.
- - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 3/36 (8.33%)  
N546 Tome of Glories Universal Upgrade Katophrane Tome
Action: If this fighter is holding an objective, gain 1 glory point. Place a Charge token next to this fighter.
- - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 9/36 (25%)