Faction

The Farstriders - The Farstriders


Card sets (7)

Core setSepulchral Guard expansionIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansion


Organised play

2 | 11 - NOT VALID

Gambits (12)

The Farstriders expansion - Lightning Blow
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Rapid Volley
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Frozen in Time
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Farstriders expansion - Inspiration Strikes
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can I play Inspiration Strikes on a fighter that is already Inspired?


    A: Yes.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Magore's Fiends expansion - Invisible Walls
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Quick Thinker
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Rebound
  • FAQ:

    Q: Who has dealt the damage dealt by Rebound?


    A: The damage is dealt by the warband of the player who played Rebound.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Spoils of Battle
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Time Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Time Trap instructs you to skip your next activation. Does this mean you have to take a Pass on your next activation, or do you get an extra activation and therefore change the turn order?


    A: When you use Time Trap you take an extra action (not an activation). This action happens in the power step, and you do not flip an activation token when you take the action. You cannot use this action to do something you could not normally do (e.g. make a Move action with a fighter that has already has a Move token). Once you have taken the action, the power step continues. You must take the ‘Pass’ player activation as your next activation, which will be followed by the power step as normal. Time Trap does not change the turn order.


    Q: How do ploys that grant extra actions work?


    A: When a ploy allows a fighter to make an action, but does not specify an action, the fighter cannot make an action that would not normally be allowed by the rules of the game. In the case of Time Trap, if the fighter chosen had a Move token, they could not make a Move or Charge action, as the rules forbid a fighter with a Move token from making a Move action (and a Charge action always includes a Move action). However, if the fighter had a Charge token, this ploy would still allow them to make any action, as a Charge token simply prevents that fighter from being activated.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Chosen Axes expansion - Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: If a fighter is taken out of action by Trap, does that happen before or after they are driven back?


    A: After.


    Q: If a fighter is driven back by an Attack action that was not successful, and then Trap is played to deal damage to that fighter, is the Attack action considered to be successful?


    A: No. The damage is dealt by the ploy, not the Attack action.


    Q: I make an Attack action with my fighter, and after the dice are rolled it is determined that the Attack action is successful and will cause damage. My opponent plays Rebound as a reaction, but fails the roll so nothing happens. We continue to resolve the Attack action: my fighter deals the damage, and I choose to drive the target fighter back. Can I now play the Trap reaction?


    A: Yes. The trigger for Trap is after the fighter is driven back, which is a different trigger to when the Attack action is determined to be successful or not.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Upgrades (12)

The Farstriders expansion - Overcharged Boltstorm Pistol
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Sharp Eyes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Swift Stride
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Army of One
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Awakened Weapon
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Deathly Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Flickering Image
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Incredible Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Soultrap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if the attacking player used Twist the Knife?


    A: Yes. Twist the Knife is used when it is determined that the Attack action will succeed, to increase the amount of damage the Attack action deals. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if either player used Rebound?


    A: Yes. Rebound is used when it is determined that the Attack action would succeed. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: If an enemy fighter would be taken out of action by my fighter’s Attack action, but my opponent uses Soultrap or Last Chance so that they are not taken out of action, can I still drive that fighter back?


    A: Yes


    Q: Can any combination of the reactions on Last Chance, Last Lunge and Soultrap be made during the same Attack action?


    A: No.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Magore's Fiends expansion - Tethered Spirit
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Trusted Defender
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restrictions Set FAQ Tags
205 Brave but Cautious The Farstriders Objective Score this in an end phase if you have at least one surviving fighter and none of your fighters suffered any damage in the preceding action phase 1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
207 Eternal Supremacy The Farstriders Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives 3 - The Farstriders expansion - -
215 Lightning Blow The Farstriders Ploy The first Attack action in the next activation has +1 Damage - - The Farstriders expansion - -
219 Rapid Volley The Farstriders Ploy Reaction: Play this after a friendly fighter's Boltstorm Pistol or Overcharged Boltstorm Pistol Attack action. That fighter can make another Boltstorm Pistol or Overcharged Boltstorm Pistol Attack action that targets the same fighter - - The Farstriders expansion - -
228 Overcharged Boltstorm Pistol The Farstriders Upgrade

Hex 3 Hammer 3 Damage 1
Cleave

- - The Farstriders expansion - -
229 Sharp Eyes The Farstriders Upgrade This fighter's Attack actions gain Cleave - Almeric Eagle-Eye The Farstriders expansion - -
231 Swift Stride The Farstriders Upgrade +2 Move - - The Farstriders expansion - -
234 Advancing Strike Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately when your warband takes an enemy fighter standing in enemy territory out of action
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
235 Alone in the Darkness Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if there are no adjacent fighters on the battlefield
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
243 Change of Tactics Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter on Guard makes a Charge action
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
252 Defensive Strike Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately when your warband takes an enemy fighter standing in your territory out of action
1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
272 Master of War Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you scored an objective card, played a ploy card and played an upgrade card in this round 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
282 Ploymaster Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you played three or more ploys in the preceding action phase 1 - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
284 Precise Use of Force Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter makes a successful Attack action that deals exactly enough damage to take their target out of action
1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
289 Skirting Danger Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if all surviving friendly fighters (at least two) are on edge hexes 1 - The Farstriders expansion - -
292 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives 3 - Core set - SSduplicate
298 The Bigger They Are Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter takes an enemy fighter out of action with an Attack action that had a Damage characteristic of 1 1 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
326 Frozen in Time Universal Ploy Choose an enemy fighter and roll a defence dice. On a roll of Shield or Critical Hit that fighter cannot make any actions or be damaged in this phase - - The Farstriders expansion - -
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action - - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -
334 Inspiration Strikes Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter. They become Inspired - - The Farstriders expansion ? -
335 Invisible Walls Universal Ploy All fighters' Move characteristics are reduced to 1 for the next activation - - Magore's Fiends expansion - -
347 Quick Thinker Universal Ploy
Banned
Reaction: Play this after an enemy fighter's Move action. Make a Move action with a friendly fighter who has not already made a Move action in this phase
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action
- - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
349 Rebound Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this during an enemy Attack action that would succeed. Roll a defence dice. On a roll of Dodge or Critical Hit the attacker suffers the damage, rather than the target, and neither fighter is driven back - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? -
362 Spoils of Battle Universal Ploy Play an upgrade card. This doesn't cost a glory point - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
368 Time Trap Universal Ploy
Banned
Choose a fighter. They can take an action. Skip your next activation (you cannot play this card after your fourth activation)
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -
369 Trap Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this during a friendly fighter's Attack action that drives an enemy fighter back. The enemy fighter suffers 1 damage
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -
375 Army of One Universal Upgrade If this fighter is the last friendly fighter on the battlefield, they have +1 Defence and all of their Attack actions have +1 Dice - - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -
376 Awakened Weapon Universal Upgrade
Restricted
You can re-roll one attack dice each time this fighter makes an Attack action
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
384 Deathly Fortitude Universal Upgrade -2 Move, +2 Wounds - - Magore's Fiends expansion - -
387 Flickering Image Universal Upgrade Reaction: After an Attack action made by this fighter that scores a critical hit, you can push them up to two hexes - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
391 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2 - - Core set - SSduplicate
395 Incredible Strength Universal Upgrade
Restricted
+1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2
- - The Farstriders expansion - -
420 Soultrap Universal Upgrade
Restricted
Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit they suffer no damage and are not taken out of action, and you discard this upgrade
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -
424 Tethered Spirit Universal Upgrade
Restricted
(Errata update) Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit place them on any starting hex in your territory, ignore the damage and discard this upgrade (they cannot be driven back). If you cannot, they are taken out of action
- - Magore's Fiends expansion - -
433 Trusted Defender Universal Upgrade You can re-roll one defence dice for this fighter when they are the target of an Attack action - - Magore's Fiends expansion - -