Faction

The Chosen Axes - The Chosen Axes


Card sets (5)

Core setSepulchral Guard expansionIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansion


Organised play

0 | 7 - NOT VALID

Gambits (12)

The Chosen Axes expansion - Indomitable
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - The Earth Shakes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Treasure-lust
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Ur-gold Boon
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Distraction
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Duel of Wits
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Earthquake
  • FAQ:

    Q: How do I resolve the pushes when I play Earthquake?


    A: Choose a direction, then push every fighter in that direction simultaneously. Any fighters that cannot be pushed in that direction (because of a blocked hex, another fighter that cannot be pushed, the edge of the battlefield or a rule that prevents them being pushed) are not pushed. As pushing every fighter at once is a little tricky to do with more than a few fighters on the battlefield, it is fine to push the fighters one at a time, so long as you bear in mind that all of the pushes happen simultaneously as far as the game is concerned (so, for example, a reaction to Earthquake – or any push made because of Earthquake – can only be made after all of the pushes from Earthquake have been resolved).


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Core set - Healing Potion
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Ready for Action
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Sidestep
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Spoils of Battle
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Trap
  • FAQ:

    Q: If a fighter is taken out of action by Trap, does that happen before or after they are driven back?


    A: After.


    Q: If a fighter is driven back by an Attack action that was not successful, and then Trap is played to deal damage to that fighter, is the Attack action considered to be successful?


    A: No. The damage is dealt by the ploy, not the Attack action.


    Q: I make an Attack action with my fighter, and after the dice are rolled it is determined that the Attack action is successful and will cause damage. My opponent plays Rebound as a reaction, but fails the roll so nothing happens. We continue to resolve the Attack action: my fighter deals the damage, and I choose to drive the target fighter back. Can I now play the Trap reaction?


    A: Yes. The trigger for Trap is after the fighter is driven back, which is a different trigger to when the Attack action is determined to be successful or not.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Upgrades (12)

The Chosen Axes expansion - Activated Runes
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Grimnir's Blessing
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Grimnir's Speed
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Awakened Weapon
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Fortitude
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Great Strength
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Shadeglass Darts
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Shardcaller
  • FAQ:

    Q: If both my opponent and I have upgraded a fighter with Shardcaller, whose Shardcaller works first at the beginning of an action phase?


    A: These upgrades would resolve simultaneously, so use the sequencing rules to determine which Shardcaller upgrade takes effect first.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


Sepulchral Guard expansion - Soultrap
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if the attacking player used Twist the Knife?


    A: Yes. Twist the Knife is used when it is determined that the Attack action will succeed, to increase the amount of damage the Attack action deals. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: Can Soultrap still be used if either player used Rebound?


    A: Yes. Rebound is used when it is determined that the Attack action would succeed. Soultrap is used when the fighter is taken out of action (so when the damage is dealt).


    Q: If an enemy fighter would be taken out of action by my fighter’s Attack action, but my opponent uses Soultrap or Last Chance so that they are not taken out of action, can I still drive that fighter back?


    A: Yes


    Q: Can any combination of the reactions on Last Chance, Last Lunge and Soultrap be made during the same Attack action?


    A: No.


    Current as at official Nightvault Designer's Commentary, November 2018


The Chosen Axes expansion - The Blazing Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - The Dazzling Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - The Shadowed Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restrictions Set FAQ Tags
119 Ferocious Charge The Chosen Axes Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter takes an enemy fighter out of action with a Charge action 1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
124 Scion of Grimnir The Chosen Axes Objective Score this immediately if your leader takes an enemy fighter out of action 1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
127 Indomitable The Chosen Axes Ploy The first time a friendly fighter suffers damage in the next activation, they only suffer 1 damage - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
132 The Earth Shakes The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a fighter and push them one hex - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
133 Treasure-lust The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and push them up to three hexes. They must end up holding an objective - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
134 Ur-gold Boon The Chosen Axes Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and roll a defence dice. On a roll of Shield or Critical Hit remove up to two wound tokens from them. Otherwise remove one wound token from them - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
136 Activated Runes The Chosen Axes Upgrade Each time this fighter make an Attack action, you can re-roll one dice - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
141 Grimnir's Blessing The Chosen Axes Upgrade Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that would take this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield the damage suffered by this fighter is ignored - Fjul-Grimnir The Chosen Axes expansion - -
143 Grimnir's Speed The Chosen Axes Upgrade +2 Move - Fjul-Grimnir The Chosen Axes expansion - -
250 Crushing Force Universal Objective Score this immediately if a friendly fighter makes a successful attack that deals at least twice as much damage as is needed to take their target out of action 1 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -
257 Escalation Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
263 Hold Objective 1 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you are holding objective 1 1 - Core set - SSduplicate
264 Hold Objective 2 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you are holding objective 2 1 - Core set - SSduplicate
265 Hold Objective 3 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you are holding objective 3 1 - Core set - SSduplicate
266 Hold Objective 4 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you are holding objective 4 1 - Core set - SSduplicate
267 Hold Objective 5 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you are holding objective 5 1 - Core set - SSduplicate
284 Precise Use of Force Universal Objective
Restricted
Score this immediately if a friendly fighter makes a successful Attack action that deals exactly enough damage to take their target out of action
1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
296 Tactical Supremacy 1-2 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold objectives 1 and 2 2 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -
297 Tactical Supremacy 3-4 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold objectives 3 and 4 2 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -
318 Distraction Universal Ploy Choose an enemy fighter and push them one hex - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
320 Duel of Wits Universal Ploy Reaction: Play this when an opponent plays a ploy. Draw two power cards - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
321 Earthquake Universal Ploy
Restricted
Push all fighters one hex. You must push them all in the same direction. Any that cannot be pushed this way are not pushed
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -
330 Healing Potion Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and roll a defence dice. On a roll of Shield or Critical Hit remove up to two wound tokens from them. Otherwise remove one wound token from them - - Core set - -
348 Ready for Action Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this after you upgrade a fighter in an action phase. They can make a Move or Attack action
- - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
360 Sidestep Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and push them one hex - - Core set - SSduplicate
362 Spoils of Battle Universal Ploy Play an upgrade card. This doesn't cost a glory point - - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
369 Trap Universal Ploy
Restricted
Reaction: Play this during a friendly fighter's Attack action that drives an enemy fighter back. The enemy fighter suffers 1 damage
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -
376 Awakened Weapon Universal Upgrade
Restricted
You can re-roll one attack dice each time this fighter makes an Attack action
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - -
389 Great Fortitude Universal Upgrade +1 Wounds - - Core set - SSduplicate
391 Great Strength Universal Upgrade +1 Damage to all Attack actions with a Range of 1 or 2 - - Core set - SSduplicate
411 Shadeglass Darts Universal Upgrade

Hex 3 Sword 3 Damage 1

On a critical hit, this Attack action has +1 Damage
- - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -
416 Shardcaller Universal Upgrade At the beginning of each action phase, you can switch an objective held by this fighter with any other objective - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion ? -
420 Soultrap Universal Upgrade
Restricted
Reaction: During an Attack action or ploy that takes this fighter out of action, roll a defence dice. If you roll a Shield or Critical Hit they suffer no damage and are not taken out of action, and you discard this upgrade
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion ? -
425 The Blazing Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 3 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points - - The Chosen Axes expansion - -
426 The Dazzling Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 4 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points - - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -
430 The Shadowed Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 2 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points - - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - -