Shared deck

Thorns of the Briar Queen Thorns of the Briar Queen

Card sets (13)

Core setSepulchral Guard expansionIronskull's Boyz expansionThe Chosen Axes expansionSpiteclaw's Swarm expansionMagore's Fiends expansionThe Farstriders expansionLeadersNightvault core setThe Eyes of the Nine expansionZarbag's Gitz expansionSteelheart's Champions expansionMollog's Mob expansion


Play formats

Cards: 0 | 0 | 8 | 0

Valid:
Open

Not valid:
Championship/Alliance Relic

Objectives (12)

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - Escalation (2)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Do upgrades applied due to Spoils of Battle or Ghoulish Pact count towards scoring Escalation?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - Making a Statement (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - Our Only Way Out (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Chosen Axes expansion - Perfect Planning (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Core set - Supremacy (3)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Tactical Supremacy 1-2 (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - Tactical Supremacy 3-4 (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Leaders - Well-guarded (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Take the City (1)
  • FAQ:

    Q: Are objectives that are half on your game board and half on your opponent’s game board (because they are in no one’s territory) considered to be on both of those boards?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Fired Up (1)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Keep Them Guessing (2)
  • Description:
    (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
  • FAQ:

    Q: What are the actions I must take to score this objective?


    A: At least four different actions from this list:

    • Move (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Attack (other than as part of a Charge)
    • Charge
    • Guard
    • Another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction)

    Note that ‘another action on a fighter card’ is counted as a single type of action, so even if you have more than one other action on a fighter card available to you, only one will be counted.


    Q: Do actions taken outside of activations (e.g. an Attack action with My Turn) count as actions for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes (although note the FAQ directly below).


    Q: If I put a fighter on Guard without activating them (e.g. by using Inspired Command or Brightshield’s Block upgrade) does that count as making a Guard action for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No. When you put a fighter on Guard without activating them, you simply give them a Guard token. This is not an action.


    Q: Do actions on upgrades count as an action on a fighter card for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: No.


    Q: If my fighter moves with Faneway Crystal or Inescapable Vengeance, does that count as a Move action (or Charge action, if they are making a Charge action) for the purpose of scoring Keep Them Guessing?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


The Eyes of the Nine expansion - Tactical Supremacy 1-4 (2)
  • FAQ: -
    -

Total glory - 22
0 | 12 | 0

Gambits (10)

The Chosen Axes expansion - Earthquake
  • FAQ:

    Q: How do I resolve the pushes when I play Earthquake?


    A: Choose a direction, then push every fighter in that direction simultaneously. Any fighters that cannot be pushed in that direction (because of a blocked hex, another fighter that cannot be pushed, the edge of the battlefield or a rule that prevents them being pushed) are not pushed. As pushing every fighter at once is a little tricky to do with more than a few fighters on the battlefield, it is fine to push the fighters one at a time, so long as you bear in mind that all of the pushes happen simultaneously as far as the game is concerned (so, for example, a reaction to Earthquake – or any push made because of Earthquake – can only be made after all of the pushes from Earthquake have been resolved).


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Magore's Fiends expansion - Hidden Paths
  • FAQ:

    Q: Hidden Paths says that the fighter is considered to have made a Move action. Does this count towards triggering cards like Quick Thinker, Kunnin’ But Brutal, and March of the Dead?


    A: The fighter gains a Move token but Hidden Paths is not a Move action (or, indeed, an action of any kind). This means that Quick Thinker and Kunnin’ But Brutal cannot be triggered by Hidden Paths (because there was no action to make the reaction to), and you cannot score Cover Ground from Hidden Paths (because it isn’t a Move action). However, as the fighter is considered to have made a Move action in that round, that fighter does count for March of the Dead when you check that in the end phase.


    Q: If my fighter hasn’t made a Move action but has one or more Move tokens (e.g. if they were chosen by Transfixing Stare), can I still use Hidden Paths on them?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Sepulchral Guard expansion - Illusory Fighter
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - Invisible Walls
  • FAQ:

    Q: How do Move modifiers interact with Invisible Walls?


    A: Invisible Walls sets all fighters’ Move characteristics to 1, then any modifiers are applied to those characteristics of 1. For example, if a fighter has the Great Speed upgrade, in the activation in which Invisible Walls is in effect that fighter would have a Move of 2.


    Q: How does Spectral Wings interact with Invisible Walls?


    A: If both of these cards are played in the same power step, in any order, the first fighter to make a Move action in the next activation has a Move characteristic of 3.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Leaders - Quick Advance
  • FAQ:

    Q: When I play Quick Advance, do I have to be able to choose two friendly fighters other than my leader, and do I have to push them if I play the card?


    A: You do not have to be able to choose two friendly fighters other than your leader to play the card – you can play this card even if the only friendly fighter on the battlefield is your leader. When you play the card, you can choose to push the chosen fighters 0 hexes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Nightvault core set - Drifting Advance
  • FAQ:

    Q: When I play Drifting Advance, do I have to push all friendly Chainrasps?


    A: No (you can choose to push a Chainrasp 0 hexes, which is effectively the same as not pushing them). In addition, you cannot push a Chainrasp that is already adjacent to an enemy fighter, as they cannot be pushed closer to an enemy fighter (this doesn’t stop you playing the card, it simply means that it won’t affect that Chainrasp).


    Q: Can I play Drifting Advance if there are no enemy fighters?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Nightvault core set - Howling Vortex
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Sudden Appearance
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can Sudden Appearance be used to place a fighter that is out of action on the battlefield?


    A: No.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Steelheart's Champions expansion - Baffling Illusion
  • FAQ:

    Q: When Baffling Illusion is in effect, and a fighter would make a Move action (and therefore Scatters as described on Baffling Illusion) are they still considered to be making a Move action?


    A: Yes.


    Q: What happens if my fighter with Faneway Crystal makes a Move action while Baffling Illusion is in effect?


    A: Resolve Faneway Crystal as normal – Baffling Illusion has no effect in this case.


    Q: What happens if my fighter with Inescapable Vengeance makes a Move action while Baffling Illusion is in effect?


    A: You choose – either do not use the ability on Inescapable Vengeance, in which case resolve Baffling Illusion as normal, or use the ability on Inescapable Vengeance, in which case Baffling Illusion has no effect.


    Q: Can my fighter make a Charge action when Baffling Illusion is in effect?


    A: Yes, as long as the fighter would be eligible to make a Charge action if Baffling Illusion wasn’t in effect (i.e. if you could decide the path of their Move action). When you resolve the Charge action, the Move action is affected as described by Baffling Illusion. If there is an enemy fighter within range after that Move action, your fighter can then make their Attack action as normal and your fighter gains a Charge token. If there is no enemy fighter within range after that Move action, your fighter cannot make an Attack action but still gains a Charge token. Note that a fighter that makes a Charge action while Baffling Illusion is in effect will also gain a Move token.


    Q: If I play Baffling Illusion, does it count towards me scoring Master of Mayhem whether or not a fighter Scatters as a result?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If my opponent plays Baffling Illusion and my fighter Scatters as a result, does it count towards me scoring Master of Mayhem?


    A: Yes.


    Q: If I play Baffling Illusion and my fighter Scatters as a result, does that count as two cards/actions towards me scoring Master of Mayhem??


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Mollog's Mob expansion - Transfixing Stare
  • FAQ: -
    -

9 | 1

Upgrades (10)

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - Shardcaller
  • FAQ:

    Q: If both my opponent and I have upgraded a fighter with Shardcaller, whose Shardcaller works first at the beginning of an action phase?


    A: These upgrades would resolve simultaneously, so use the sequencing rules to determine which Shardcaller upgrade takes effect first.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


The Chosen Axes expansion - The Blazing Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Sepulchral Guard expansion - The Dazzling Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Magore's Fiends expansion - The Formless Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - The Fractured Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

The Farstriders expansion - The Hallowed Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Ironskull's Boyz expansion - The Shadowed Key
  • FAQ: -
    -

Nightvault core set - Inescapable Vengeance
  • FAQ:

    Q: If the Briar Queen has a Move characteristic of 0, can she still make a Move action to be placed on any starting hex using Inescapable Vengeance?


    A: Yes.


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Zarbag's Gitz expansion - Faneway Crystal
  • FAQ:

    Q: Can a fighter with this upgrade make a normal Move action?


    A: No.


    Q: When a fighter with this upgrade makes a Charge action how does it work?


    A: The fighter does not move normally. Instead, you place them on any objective token. Note that you must still follow the other rules for making a Charge action, so there must be an enemy fighter within range and line of sight of one or more of the moving fighter’s Attack actions at the end of its move.


    Q: Can a fighter with a Move characteristic of 0 still use Faneway Crystal to Move to an objective token?


    A: Yes (with the exception of fighters that cannot make Move actions, like the Stalagsquig).


    Current as of official Beastgrave Designer's Commentary, November 2019


Steelheart's Champions expansion - Tome of Glories
  • FAQ: -
    -

# Name Name Faction Type Description Glory Restricted Set FAQ Tags TDC Popularity
257 Escalation Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if three or more upgrade cards were played in the preceding action phase.
2 - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion ? -  
270 Making a Statement Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold all objectives (at least one) in your opponent's territory.
3 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -  
278 Our Only Way Out Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives.
2 - The Farstriders expansion - -  
280 Perfect Planning Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if none of your fighters made a Move action in the preceding action phase.
1 - The Chosen Axes expansion - -  
292 Supremacy Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold three or more objectives.
3 - Core set - SSduplicate 16/28 (57.14%)  
296 Tactical Supremacy 1-2 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold objectives 1 and 2.
2 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - SSduplicate  
297 Tactical Supremacy 3-4 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold objectives 3 and 4.
2 - Sepulchral Guard expansion - SSduplicate  
321 Earthquake Universal Ploy Push all fighters one hex. You must push them all in the same direction. Any that cannot be pushed this way are not pushed.
- - The Chosen Axes expansion ? -  
331 Hidden Paths Universal Ploy Choose a friendly fighter that hasn't made a Move action this phase and is on any edge hex. Place them on any other edge hex. They are considered to have made a Move action.
- - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -  
332 Illusory Fighter Universal Ploy Choose one of your fighters on the battlefield. Place them on a starting hex in your territory.
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion - -  
335 Invisible Walls Universal Ploy All fighters' Move characteristics are reduced to 1 for the next activation.
- - Magore's Fiends expansion ? -  
416 Shardcaller Universal Upgrade At the beginning of each action phase, you can switch an objective held by this fighter with any other objective.
- - Ironskull's Boyz expansion ? SSduplicate  
425 The Blazing Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 3 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points.
- - The Chosen Axes expansion - SSduplicate  
426 The Dazzling Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 4 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points.
- - Sepulchral Guard expansion - SSduplicate  
427 The Formless Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding an objective in the third end phase, score 1 glory point.
- - Magore's Fiends expansion - SSduplicate  
428 The Fractured Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 5 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points.
- - Spiteclaw's Swarm expansion - SSduplicate  
429 The Hallowed Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 1 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points.
- - The Farstriders expansion - SSduplicate  
430 The Shadowed Key Universal Upgrade If this fighter is holding objective 2 in the third end phase, score 2 glory points.
- - Ironskull's Boyz expansion - SSduplicate  
L29 Well-guarded Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if your leader is adjacent to two or more friendly fighters.
1 - Leaders - -  
L42 Quick Advance Universal Ploy Choose up to two friendly fighters (other than your leader) and push each of them up to one hex. You can only play this if your leader is on the battlefield.
- - Leaders ? -  
N35 Take the City Thorns of the Briar Queen Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold all objectives on one or more game boards.
1 - Nightvault core set ? -  
N39 Drifting Advance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Push all friendly Chainrasps up to two hexes. This push must take them closer to the nearest enemy fighter in each case. If there is more than one nearest enemy fighter, you can choose which the Chainrasp is pushed towards.
- - Nightvault core set ? -  
N42 Howling Vortex Thorns of the Briar Queen Spell Gambit Spell (FocusFocus): If this spell is cast, push all enemy fighters up to one hex.
- - Nightvault core set - - 2/28 (7.14%)  
N47 Sudden Appearance Thorns of the Briar Queen Ploy Choose a friendly fighter and place them on any starting hex.
- - Nightvault core set ? - 3/28 (10.71%)  
N55 Inescapable Vengeance Thorns of the Briar Queen Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move or Charge action, instead of moving them normally you can place them on any starting hex.
- Briar Queen Nightvault core set ? - 3/28 (10.71%)  
N319 Fired Up Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if at least one surviving friendly fighter is Inspired.
1 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - - 20/28 (71.43%)  
N340 Keep Them Guessing Universal Objective (Errata update) Score this in an end phase if your warband made at least four different actions from the following list in the preceding action phase: Move (other than as part of a Charge), Attack (other than as part of a Charge), Charge, Guard, another action on a fighter card (other than a reaction).
Forsaken
2 - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 12/28 (42.86%)  
N376 Tactical Supremacy 1-4 Universal Objective Score this in an end phase if you hold objectives 1 and 4.
2 - The Eyes of the Nine expansion - -  
N397 Baffling Illusion Universal Ploy The first time a fighter would make a Move action in the next activation, their player instead Scatters X from the hex that fighter occupies, and pushes the fighter along the chain to the end hex. X is the fighter's Move characteristic. If the fighter cannot be pushed into a hex, the push ends in the last hex in the chain they can occupy. Place a Move token next to that fighter.
Forsaken
- - Steelheart's Champions expansion ? -  
N467 Transfixing Stare Universal Ploy Choose an enemy fighter within two hexes of a friendly fighter and place a Move token next to them.
- - Mollog's Mob expansion - - 12/28 (42.86%)  
N499 Faneway Crystal Universal Upgrade When this fighter makes a Move action, they do not move normally. Instead, place them on any objective token, then discard this card. It is still considered to be a Move action.
- - Zarbag's Gitz expansion ? - 17/28 (60.71%)  
N546 Tome of Glories Universal Upgrade Katophrane Tome
Action: If this fighter is holding an objective, gain 1 glory point. Place a Charge token next to this fighter.
- - Steelheart's Champions expansion - - 8/28 (28.57%)